Just moments ago, I received this:

 
Hi Kate-Madonna,
In a few days we’ll be removing an old Facebook setting you’ve used in the past. You’ll see an announcement on Facebook and have several chances to learn about this before then. We just wanted to tell you about this in advance so you have time to review what’s changing and understand your privacy options.
     
What’s changing: We’re removing an old search setting called “Who can look up your Timeline by name”—but this won’t change who can see what you’ve shared on Facebook.
What did this setting do?
“Who can look up your Timeline by name” controlled who could find your Timeline by typing your name in search.
What will happen when the setting is removed?
Anyone will be able to look up your Timeline by your name — but if they go to your Timeline, they’ll only see what they already have permission to see. Removing this setting doesn’t change who can see your photos, status updates or other things you’ve shared.
Why is Facebook removing this setting?
When we created this setting, the only way to find you on Facebook was to search for your specific name. Now, people can come across your Timeline in other ways: for example if a friend tags you in a photo, which links to your Timeline, or if people search for phrases like “People who like The Beatles,” or “People who live in Seattle,” in Graph Search.
Today, the best way to manage who sees your stuff is to use your Privacy Shortcuts (just click the lock icon at the top of every page of the Facebook website), and to choose who to share with when you post new photos and updates.
What’s next?
You’ll have more chances to review this info before the setting is removed—and we’ll remind you on Facebook.
Want to review your privacy choices now? Here are some things you can do:
  • If you want to quickly limit the audience of things you’ve shared in the past to Friends, visit your privacy settings.
  • Each time you share a photo, link or status update, you can set the privacy for that specific post.
  • Check out what you’ve shared in the past—and who can see that info—by going to your activity log. To get to your activity log, click the lock icon at the top of any page to open your privacy shortcuts.

 

FBTimelineByName

 

What does this mean? Facebook is removing the option for search engines NOT to find you. Meaning, anyone who plugs your name into their search can automatically see your public profile, unless you’ve already blocked them. A great way to prevent this from having a dramatic impact is to go to SETTINGS and making sure most of your other settings are set to: FRIENDS. Or, you could just leave Facebook completely. But before you do, keep reading.

Facebook’s latest change is going to open up the door for individuals to find you, (including future employers, exes and unsavory people.) I’ve seen many people changing their name on Facebook to try and keep their privacy as best as they can. But, if you don’t want to be found on Facebook, it may be time to quit the social network, altogether.

Remember, if you choose to delete your Facebook profile, it may not come up, but Facebook still retains, (and may sell) your private information to advertisers. Since quitting Facebook does not erase your Facebook history from their servers, make sure you know what information Facebook holds about you by going here and downloading your Facebook information. And, if you choose to quit Facebook, you may want to plug in some false information before you go, so that what they’re selling, doesn’t lead back to you.